Author |
Message |
Registered: March 18, 2007 | Reputation: | Posts: 6,460 |
| Posted: | | | | Hi Mark, I am working on the CSV Import portion of BulkEdit. I am planning to use as the standard formats, those that you export. - So, I second the motion for breaking out the currencies for Purchase Price and SRP - Also, it would be helpful to get the profile ID. This would give me the locality (otherwise I have to guess it - 75 -90% accurate), and also covers disc-id and manual profiles nicely. I am writing my code so that I can accomodate the change easily if you decide to do it. I realize that any change may potentially impact prior scripts, so I will understand if you decide not to do it.
Of course I don't have to be bound to your formats - I just think it is a good idea to minimize the number of different things the users have to worry about. If they output from your tool, they should be able to input to mine - with no hassles.
(Oops never mind ... deleted comment.) | | | Thanks for your support. Free Plugins available here. Advanced plugins available here. Hey, new product!!! BDPFrog. | | | Last edited: by mediadogg |
|
Registered: March 13, 2007 | Reputation: | Posts: 3,321 |
| Posted: | | | | Those sound like good ideas mediadogg. I'll add those to the next version. They'll be new fields and leave the originals intact, so nothing should break. | | | Get the CSVExport and Database Query plug-ins here. Create fake parent profiles to organize your collection. |
|
Registered: March 18, 2007 | Reputation: | Posts: 6,460 |
| Posted: | | | | Quoting Mark Harrison: Quote: Those sound like good ideas mediadogg. I'll add those to the next version. They'll be new fields and leave the originals intact, so nothing should break. You da man! Only ones I need (to know about) right now - can I assume ... Heading, "Purchase Price Currency" - values to look the ones from DVDPro XML (DenominationType)? Heading, "Profile ID" - values just like DVDPro XML? I want to code to these now, even though you won't be generating them until next release. Edit: Mark, I just noticed that Locality is already included in the Row/Col formats. Don't know how I missed seeing that - I think I was looking at the "2.4" format. Profile ID would still be helpful in the case of manual profiles, to save parsing of the UPC, but for normal profiles, of course UPC.Locality works just fine for Profile ID. Edit: I decided to use your "Column" format because it seemed easier to parse - only one record per profile. However, the result is that I am creating as many discs as required to support the profile that has the largest number. Either I have to switch to your "Row" format (1 record per profile-disc), or I need a field callled "Number of Discs". For now, I will try to deduce it. Any discs whose fields are completely empty will be deleted. That should work, unless the user did not intend it. 09/30 Edit: Not sure you are even noticing this, but for the record I noticed for Hong Kong Dollars, you use HK$, whereas DVDP XML uses HKD. I'll trap and convert any others I find, but I hope you consider changing them to be compatible with the XML output values. Another: kr shoudl be DKK. | | | Thanks for your support. Free Plugins available here. Advanced plugins available here. Hey, new product!!! BDPFrog. | | | Last edited: by mediadogg |
|
Registered: March 13, 2007 | Posts: 519 |
| Posted: | | | | With both this and the database query plugin, I keep getting an error message "Input String not in the correct format" about 1/3 of the way into the progress bar and the plugins won't complete.
Any ideas what could be causing it?
Thanks. | | | Stuart |
|
Registered: March 13, 2007 | Reputation: | Posts: 3,321 |
| Posted: | | | | Quoting Gadgeteer: Quote: With both this and the database query plugin, I keep getting an error message "Input String not in the correct format" about 1/3 of the way into the progress bar and the plugins won't complete.
Any ideas what could be causing it?
Thanks. Since you didn't post a lot of details here, I'm assuming you have the plugins installed, but they're having problems reading the data when you run them? If so, I'd guess you have some funky data in your database that I need to code around. The easiest way to do this would be for you to create a backup (minus cover images) and mail it to me. Send me a PM and I'll send you an account with enough space to accept a backup. | | | Get the CSVExport and Database Query plug-ins here. Create fake parent profiles to organize your collection. |
|
Registered: March 13, 2007 | Posts: 519 |
| Posted: | | | | Quoting Mark Harrison: Quote: Quoting Gadgeteer:
Quote: With both this and the database query plugin, I keep getting an error message "Input String not in the correct format" about 1/3 of the way into the progress bar and the plugins won't complete.
Any ideas what could be causing it?
Thanks.
Since you didn't post a lot of details here, I'm assuming you have the plugins installed, but they're having problems reading the data when you run them? If so, I'd guess you have some funky data in your database that I need to code around. The easiest way to do this would be for you to create a backup (minus cover images) and mail it to me. Send me a PM and I'll send you an account with enough space to accept a backup. Thank you Mark. You've understood my problem spot-on. PM on its way bud | | | Stuart |
|
Registered: March 13, 2007 | Reputation: | Posts: 3,321 |
| Posted: | | | | Is this a problem with 3.1 or the beta? I've been using them with the beta and they work fine so far (except the rating stuff), but it's possible there could be problems. | | | Get the CSVExport and Database Query plug-ins here. Create fake parent profiles to organize your collection. |
|
Registered: March 13, 2007 | Posts: 519 |
| Posted: | | | | It's with both versions. | | | Stuart |
|
Registered: March 13, 2007 | Posts: 519 |
| Posted: | | | | I tried to create a backup to send you but it ended up over 90MB, even without images. So I had a go at trying to find the problem myself and, by a series of elimination, tracked it down to 1 profile that had a false EAN and wrong locality. The reason for the EAN modification was because it is a duplicate DVD I own. After I changed the locality from the incorrect USA to UK but still kept the false EAN, it worked ok. I've now succesfully run both plug-ins for the 1st time and I'm extremely impressed. Good work Mark | | | Stuart |
|
Registered: March 13, 2007 | Reputation: | Posts: 3,321 |
| Posted: | | | | I'm glad to hear that you tracked the problem down! I'll have to see if I can recreate the issue so I can catch the problem in future versions. | | | Get the CSVExport and Database Query plug-ins here. Create fake parent profiles to organize your collection. |
|
Registered: March 14, 2007 | Posts: 278 |
| Posted: | | | | I'm getting an error message saying 'Object reference not set to an instance of an object'.
I'm using the latest beta.
Any ideas? | | | Guns don't kill people. Hammers do. |
|
Registered: March 13, 2007 | Reputation: | Posts: 3,321 |
| Posted: | | | | I've not really done any testing yet with the latest beta. It works for me so far, but with the new fields and such, I'm not surprised that it might have issues. When Ken releases his new SDK for the new version, I'll look into fixing it. But there's no point right now. | | | Get the CSVExport and Database Query plug-ins here. Create fake parent profiles to organize your collection. |
|
Registered: June 4, 2008 | Posts: 1 |
| Posted: | | | | I'm having the same problem as Kevin coed. It stops exporting as soon as it reaches a DVD that i have typed in manually. fx: UPC: Manual DVD #243 Hope it is possible to fix, and at the same time i want to thank you for your great plugin! //Daniel from Denmark |
|
Registered: October 23, 2007 | Posts: 6 |
| Posted: | | | | Why is it that I don't get any ratings when I export? All entries are just blank, for video or MPAA. |
|
Registered: March 13, 2007 | Reputation: | Posts: 3,321 |
| Posted: | | | | Quoting wnorris: Quote: Why is it that I don't get any ratings when I export? All entries are just blank, for video or MPAA. Because the plug-in is written for version 3.1, not 3.5 and doesn't support all the new features found in 3.5. And it won't support version 3.5 until Ken gets us the code needed to support it. My hands are tied at this point. But he did say we'd be getting that code with release 3.5.1. That version is now out, so hopefully we'l be getting what we need to update our plug-ins soon. | | | Get the CSVExport and Database Query plug-ins here. Create fake parent profiles to organize your collection. |
|
Registered: March 14, 2007 | Reputation: | Posts: 1,029 |
| Posted: | | | | Quoting Mark Harrison: Quote: But he did say we'd be getting that code with release 3.5.1. That version is now out, so hopefully we'l be getting what we need to update our plug-ins soon. Regarding this, please see Ken's recent note in the Dev forum. | | | Matthias |
|